Roasted Almond Butter

I love honey-roasted peanut butter. For a while, I was buying a half pint of the freshly-ground stuff weekly at Whole Foods and treating myself to a couple of spoonfuls a day. My children love it, too, either plain or with slices of banana or apple.

As I researched and practiced elimination diets, however, I decided to find an alternative to my beloved peanuty treat. I already knew that digesting peanuts was more challenging for my system than I wanted to admit. And since peanuts can be inflammatory and irritating, I decided to find an alternative.

As a result, I developed this super-easy recipe for almond butter. To satisfy my hankering for a little sweetness, I’ve added just a bit of stevia, maple syrup, and vanilla extract. If you prefer not to do so, the butter is just as delicious with the addition of pink salt alone.

This almond butter keeps well at room temperature for up to 1 week. Enjoy it in its own, mixed into smoothies, with fruit, or occasionally on gluten-free bread. 

Let me know what you think!

8 ounces raw natural almonds

1 tablespoon organic coconut oil 

2 teaspoons stevia (optional)

2 teaspoons organic maple syrup (optional)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Pinch pink Himalayan sea salt

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Spread the almonds on a rimmed parchment-lined baking sheet. Roast until golden brown and fragrant, about 7 minutes.

Transfer the warm nuts to the bowl of a food processor fitted with the blade attachment. Begin processing and add the coconut oil, stevia, maple syrup, vanilla, and salt, stopping occasionally to scrape the sides of the bowl. Continue to process until the butter is smooth, 3 to 5 minutes.

Transfer the almond butter to a glass jar and cover tightly. The butter will keep fresh at room temperature for 1 week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One thought on “Roasted Almond Butter

  1. Wow! This sounds really great – especially with the pink sea salt. Thank you. I’m always looking for something non inflammatory.
    Terrific.

Leave a Reply

